Are you able ... ?

Are you able to look at a photo of a completed crochet item and then make one on your own ... developing a pattern as you go?

:cheer

Nope, I'm not quite that talented. Even when I'm making the project and following the pattern, its hard to tell what stitch is what. :lol But then, I'm pretty new to the hooking world.

Sort of....

It's one of those things I have tried with mixed success. Sometimes it's easy if it's a motif that repeats itself and you can work backwards to get the starting chain size....

Is there something you had in mind??

I found a photo of a 'Hello Kitty' hat ... but could not find a pattern to purchase ... so I have designed one myself ... now let's see if I can get it all written down to share with others, and for myself - reproduce again.

To be honest, I've never really tried. I've thought about it before & even looked at the stitches & done some counting, sizing up, etc. When it comes to doing the actual work, I'd rather look at a pattern - I don't consider myself particularly creative & the patterns I've worked from are so much better than something I could come up with on my own...at least in my opinion they are.

Yes I can do this and have been doing it for years. And I can convert knit to crochet with relative ease. Most of that is looking at a picture and coming up with a similar concept.

I've only done that once or twice. Years ago, I crocheted a sweater where the pattern called for different stitches on alternating rows, and I used an entirely different stitch for one row, because I didn't like that stitch. It didn't change the looks all that much.

Sometimes on an afghan or even a sweater, I can figure out from the picture what the stitch pattern is... but normally, I just follow the pattern, unless I want to make it longer or wider, whatever.

Hi Nevie,

Here are some of the things I've crocheted by looking at pictures. Once in awhile I can come up with something very similar to the original.