Teaching Young Girls Crochet

Ok friends,

I have volunteered my services for a summer program teaching young girls how to crochet. I have never done this before so for those of you who have gone before me I have some questions:

1. Is there a hook size that would be the easiest for them to manuever? I was thinking H hooks. :think

2. What project would you recommend to teach basic stitches? I was thinking a potholders, coaster or something. Any suggestions? :hook

Any other suggestions would be greatly appreciated; I'm really looking forward to this but I'm a little nervous at the same time.

You seem to be on the right track. I would do something like potholders or coasters to start out with, and an "h" hook would be about the right size.

Have many colors to choose from, both in the yarns and the hooks. Girls like colors!

Make it a fun way to learn. Once they get the basics, have class outside or in a different place to keep it fun. Unless it's too hot, then you'll get the whining to deal with. :lol

Also, bring along someone else to help out. This way, you aren't the only one walking around helping all who need it.

Good luck. Let us know how your class turns out.

:manyheart

I taught young girls to crochet last year. After they mastered chaining and single crochet, I taught them how to make a headband or belt. There is a really good belt pattern at Crochet Today:

http://www.crochettoday.com/pdfs/CTmar_aprBeltforWeb.pdf

This pattern uses hdc but I think it would be just as fun in sc (kids who are ready can move on to hdc, though... and it can be shortened to make a headband, too). They were especially proud because they could wear their creations. This pattern uses an I hook... I think anything in the H-I-J range is good for beginners. Have fun teaching!