Filet

tayzeanna

How difficult is it to do filet crochet? I am thinking about joining the Greek Games in Aug here on the 'ville but I want to do something challenging. I have never done filet before and thought that it might be a good challenge for me to learn during that time. However I want the challenge to be fairly good too. I don't want it to be something I can complete in one day. Anyone have any suggestions for patterns to use?

I would strongly suggest starting with a smaller piece that's not overwhelming. You could do my free prayer cloth pattern (it's only a 5inch square) and by the time you're finished you'll have the converting blocks into stitches down.

Smart Crochet has an EXCELLENT tutorial.

THanks for the pattern. I might use that as my practice piece.

fillet was the first thing i learnt it was a beautiful pink rose doily. My mother loved it. I was only 16 at the time.

So go for it it is good fun.

How difficult is it to do filet crochet? I am thinking about joining the Greek Games in Aug here on the 'ville but I want to do something challenging. I have never done filet before and thought that it might be a good challenge for me to learn during that time. However I want the challenge to be fairly good too. I don't want it to be something I can complete in one day. Anyone have any suggestions for patterns to use?

Hey!

Filet is one of those things that sounds scarier :eek than it really is! My first one was the Daffodil table runner. It did teach me a lot about even tension and techniques for blocking which I didn't have before.

For my Games challenge, I've designed my own, using the Sandcastle Software, I'm just trying to decide whether to do it in sportweight or #10 thread.

There are a lot of free filet patterns here - that may suit!

Good luck!

Manda