Yes- I'm a man and like to crochet

Simon82895

Simon, age 48 from Central New Jersey. A few years ago I made a lame attempt at quitting smoking. To keep my hands busy I learned to crochet and knit. The quitting smoking has been off and on for the most part, actually downright diffucult.

I got sober back in August of 1995 hence my username. The date I quit drinking. In my area I am known as that guy that crochets at AA meetings. At least I'm not known as the guy who doesn't remember what he did the night before anymore.

I came upon this forum doing a goolge for crochet forums and like what I see. I will try to take pictures of some of the stuff I've made and post them. I suck at reading patterns but I'm still learning. I learned how to make a granny square recently and am going nuts with that.

• Replies 100
  • Created
  • Last Reply

:welcomeI'm also in NJ. You will love this site and there are a few men here. It's a great place to chat with people who love to crochet and always someone willing to help out when you are stuck on a pattern.

My other half is trying to quit, never thought to give him a pattern :lol.

Good for you for giving up both.

Congratulations on your sobriety! Keep up the good work.

I know other men who crochet so don't think you're the only one out there in a vast sea of estrogen!:lol

Post some pics of your work. We all love pictures!

Welcome to the ville from NYC!

Yes, there are some patterns for rosaries:

http://www.crochetpatterncentral.com/directory/religious.php - there are some rosary patterns here

http://home.inreach.com/marthac/relig.html - this link has a bunch of religious things including rosaries

http://www.premier.net/~lhamm/salepatterns/rosarypatterns.htm - this site has rosary patterns for sale

Welcome Simon. We are always happy to have someone new. You are definately not the lone male crocheter, although its still a novelty in my town.