how to gauge size before felting

marycat

I'm new to felting having only done one purse using a pattern. How would you go about judging the size of doing a purse before felting to get the size you actually want after felting? Is it just a guessing game and hoping for the best? For example if you wanted a purse to be 12X12 after felting how big would you make it before felting. Also about straps. I prefer shoulder straps so how long would you make them and is it better to join them to the purse before felting or after? I appreciate any helpful info you can give me.

From my experience felting crocheted and knitted pieces is no exact science. It all depends on the wool, the type of stitches, the tension, the hot water and so many unforseeable factors.

With that said, this is how I do it. Is it correct, who knows. Is it how everyone does it, I highly doubt it because I've read so many different opinions on how to do it.

First I make a swatch with my wool in the stitch and tension I plan on using. Measure it and then felt it and then measure it again. I figure the ratio of how much it shrank and plan my dimensions from there.

Example: I have found through projects that for me Patons and Lion wool shrinks by about one third. (I have found Knit Picks Andes shrinks a bit more.)

So if I want my finished project to be 12" x 12" I would make it 18" x 18" and I figure it would come out roughly the size I want. Remember when the piece is wet you can streatch and shape quite a bit.

The stitch and tension play a big part here. I usually only use one strand of wool in a half double crochet stitch. For me this give the best finished look. BUT... when I have used a different stitch the amount of shrinkage was different.

I have also found in knitted items it shrinks more in the height than the width.