How do you hold your hook?

When I taught myself how to crochet in '98, I bought a kit that had the book, hooks, stitch markers, bobbins, etc. in the package. Well, in the book it showed me how to hold my hook. I hold it with my hand on top of the hook. I am comfortable this way. After I learned how to crochet this way I have seen people hold their hook kind of like a pencil. I tried it this way and there is absolutely no way I can crochet like that. So which way is the right way? Or is there no "right" way?????

• Replies 52
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I'm sort of self taught and I hold my hook the same way you do, like a knife I would use to cut into a steak. I always thought I was doing it wrong, but the other day I was sitting next to an elderly lady who held hers the exact same way!

Since then I've seen and online tutorial that shows both ways as right. I think that however you can get the job done is right.

There's no right way or wrong way.. whatever is comfy and gets the job done.

I prefer to call it the "toothbrush grip" over a "knife." I've tried the pencil grip, and I just can't do it!

I hold my hook like a pencil. My mom taught me when I was a teenager and it's just how I do it. Now if it's a 'tight' situation like crocheting around an object (nylon scrubbie for instance) then I switch to the spoon or toothbrush way. But there is no right or wrong way. Just however you were taught and most comfortable with.

My grandmother taught me to crochet and she taught me to hold it like a pencil. One day I walked into Great Yarns for some help with a project and the only crochet lady there held her hook like a knife. When I showed her how I crocheted, she said I was doing it wrong.

My mom's grandmother taught her how to crochet, and she uses the pencil grip. She taught my sister, who uses the same method.

I was taught by a former roommate and she used the knife or toothbrush grip, so that's how I learned.