Confused crocheter ??

nikimcn

Question

So I've been crocheting for many years, however I've always ONLY done basic blankets, as I cannot figure out most patterns LOL.

I'm not sure why...So last night I decided to try the ripple blanket. And I tried one other. My first question is this...When they say "skip 4 ch and dc in next ch" does that mean that you will DC on the 5th chain? That's what I did, assuming it said skip 4. Or does it mean do the DC in the 4th? Stuff like that is so confusing to me. Also, in the ripple blanket I got row 1 foundation row done just fine. When I chained 2 and turned though that's where I had the problems...It said something like "skip first dc and make 5 dc in next 5 dc". Well on the ripple afghan they have these special instructions, so there isn't just ONE dc, there is kind of like a bubble of 3 dc put together, to make the hills and valleys. :think So when they say 1 dc in the next dc do they mean make only 1 dc in that bubble's top? or separate the 3 dc in that bubble and make 3 separate dc's in each dc?

i hope I didn't confuse you . LOL. I confused myself. So I always end up quitting crochet because of this. Some instructions *even in books* are so dang confusing for me!? Is it just NOT written right? no, it's prob'ly me. LOL. Please help!

11 answers to this question

Thank you so much girls. That helped. :)

I sure wish I had someone to crochet with locally to help me out in these situations LOL.

I'd love to make other nice things, not just the same stitch throughout the blanket LOL

In answer to your first question, yes you skip 4 chains and DC in the 5th chain.

Now for the next question you have "skip first dc and make 5 dc in next 5 dc". When you do DC, the turning chains are counted as a Double. So, the mean you don't add a Double into the base of the turning chs. According to what you posted (which sounds sort of odd) they are telling you to do 5 DC in each of the next 5 DC.