what does this mean?

tonifabulous

Question

im new to crocheting and trying to make a baby blanket for my sister. i have a pattern but dont understand what one of the lines in the pattern means, can you help??? i dont want to mess this up. The parts I dont understand are in bold.

Ch 117.

1st row: (RS) 1 sc in 2nd ch from hook. Ch 1. Miss next ch. *1 sc in nect ch. Ch 3. miss next 2 ch. Rep from * to last 3 ch. 1 sc in next ch. Ch 1. Miss next ch. 1 sc in last ch. Turn. 37 ch-3 sps.

2nd row: Ch 3 (counts as dc). 1 dc in first sc. Miss next ch-1 sp and sc. *Ch 3. 1 sc in next ch-3 sp. Ch 3. 3 dc in next ch-3 sp. Rep from * to last ch-3 sp. Ch 3. 1 sc in last ch-3 sp. Ch 3. Miss next sc and ch-1 sp. 2 dc in last sc. Turn.

What is "ch-3" and "ch-1" sps? What does that mean?

Thanks,

Toni

14 answers to this question

All those mean is that it is the space (abbreviated sp) created by your chain 3 (or chain 1). It created a "hole" and on the next row you will crochet INTO that hole. The "37 ch-3 sps" translates as "you have made 37 chain-3 spaces"; which is really nice info to have since now you can go back and count them to make sure you are still on track!

Translating crochet abbreviations is like learning a whole new language so it is very easy to get confused. It has happened to everyone! Let me know if you have any more questions! Good luck!

Sara

ETA: Welcome to the 'Ville! :welcome

im new to crocheting and trying to make a baby blanket for my sister. i have a pattern but dont understand what one of the lines in the pattern means, can you help??? i dont want to mess this up. The parts I dont understand are in bold.

Ch 117.

1st row: (RS) 1 sc in 2nd ch from hook. Ch 1. Miss next ch. *1 sc in nect ch. Ch 3. miss next 2 ch. Rep from * to last 3 ch. 1 sc in next ch. Ch 1. Miss next ch. 1 sc in last ch. Turn. 37 ch-3 sps.