seeking advice from mommies

I need to make some stuff for a baby shower in two weeks. I've never done baby items before and don't know much about babies in general. The parents-to-be are very "get er done" and I wanted to focus on making simple, functional everyday things that they could get a lot of use out of. We don't know the sex, so I wanted to stay away from froufy stuff in case the baby turns out to be a he. I was thinking pastel blue.

So, what do babies wear? She's due in April - maybe spring/summer stuff in 3-6mos size? Cotton, synthetic - does it matter? How about booties - are those just for show?

A simple sweater, like the one above, or a small blanket are very useful. I never did the booties thing with my daughter - I just let her wear socks, as we live in Florida. As this baby will be a "baby" in the summer, I'd skip the booties.

But a light sweater in a sport weight cotton/acrylic blend would be nice. Do NOT make a newborn size though. My newborn wore a size 3 mos outfit out of the hospital, lol!

As for fiber, again, since this will be a warm weather baby, go with a cotton blend. I like TLC Cotton Plus - it has lots of bright, cheerful colors and although it says "worsted" it's more like a sport when it works up.

As for colors, go with bright, cheery colors. You can't go wrong with them for either sex. Yellows, oranges, greens - nice spring-y colors that aren't "boy" or "girl".

I never liked pastels for my daughter, personally, and there are so many nice bright colors out these days.

my son is 8 months old. born may 8th.

first off: DON'T MAKE PASTEL STUFF!!!! i can't tell you how much baby blue stuff we got for my son. i wished i had some reds, greens, primary colors.