• Continental
    • Throw Over
    • Other

• Replies 93
  • Created
  • Last Reply

:cheer I knit proper.

:think Well I think I do.

I actually knit how my mother taught me, probably called the throw method but because I dont take my hand off the needles, it really is more of an index finger flick.

When doing Fairisle, I hold my second colour in my left hand and do a sort-of Continental style so I dont have to keep changing the yarn over.

I have been knitting for well over 50 years and it was not until I got onto the Message Boards that I realised how many different ways people find to knit and crochet. Some look easy and some look hard and I just want to wave my magic wand and help everyone to find the easiest way to knit or crochet so there is no struggle or sore hands.

Have fun.

Colleen.:hug

Quite frankly, I tried the continental and I just cant get it - it's too hard...and my friend that knits says she doesn't understand why i can't get it, because when i crohet, she says i hold my yarn like i am supposed to hold it for the continental method...

oivea

When I first started to knit, I used the throw method. I tried Continental, but couldn't get the hang of it. Then I took a break from knitting. When I picked it back up, I looked through my How to Knit book and decided to try Continental again, and it works so much better for me than the throw method did!

I don't know yet! I want to learn continental because I know I would like to do color work in the future and I have tried some and it feels fairly comfortable. We'll see. I hope to cast on this weekend.

I don't know yet! I want to learn continental because I know I would like to do color work in the future and I have tried some and it feels fairly comfortable. We'll see. I hope to cast on this weekend.

Me too! I need to go buy needles! I so want to make the tunic from the latest IC. I decided not to be made that it was a K/C combo, but to embrace the needles and finally learn to Knit.