Is this too ambitious for a first thread project?

Stacey

I've never used thread before, but I really, really want to make this, enough to get over my fear of thread crochet:

www.crochetmagazine.com/f..._shawl.pdf

(It's a PDF file, about 150k - it's a really pretty beaded fishnet shawl.)

It doesn't *look* that hard (though any pattern that starts out "ch 501" makes me a little nervous!), but is it probably biting off more than I can chew for my first thread project?

Stacey

I think it would be fine to tackle, but I'd do a few smaller things first. Even if nothing more than practice squares, just to get used to using thread. I made several 2x2 inch squares of various stitches, just to make sure I was comfortable with it before I made my first bookmark. So many things are different than stitching with yarn, even down to which area of the hook you hold the thread on. With yarn, you're much further up the shaft of the hook, toward your thumb. With thread, the closer to the hook the better. You'll love it though, I'm sure of it! :))

If you would know how to make it if it was in yarn, you should be fine in thread. Just please don't get frustrated if your tension isn't right--it's not going to be perfect immediately. I started out crocheting in yarn but almost immediately switched to thread and it's been thread for me ever since!

Rachel

www.crochetpatterncentral.com

Thanks for the input! I'll go ahead and do some practice work first to get used to the feel of it and get my tension worked out - those are great ideas and I hadn't even thought of it. It is definitely something I'd be able to handle in yarn, except that I've never done anything involving beads - but that part doesn't look too hard, just pulling the bead up when the instructions say to.