Network Crochet Project

Hello!

I am a student at the Maryland Institute College of Art currently doing a project involving crocheting. I’m interested in combining technology with the traditional craft. This project focuses on converting digital networks (world wide web, email) to a physical network (the crocheted product) by means of a human network (everyone who submits). A form is set up online for you to create your very own pattern through choices of yarn, hook size, number of stitches and stitch type. These individual patterns will then be complied and crocheted in a large scrumble. Visit the URL below to participate and find out more about the project.

http://digital.mica.edu/IM200C/lhebert/Project2/index.html

Thank-you very much!

What an interesting concept! I can't wait to see what you end up with. I hope you'll stick around and be sure to remind us about the final project once you have it completed!

Neat! I'll be interested to see what happens!

Mandy, here's some information I copied from that website (I hope she won't mind that I did!) -- it seems to help explain what she's going for:

Process:

The process is simple. First, the pattern for the World’s Web will be created by people’s submissions via an online form. People will choose the yarn, hook size, stitch and number of stitches. Then, a crocheted fabric will then be made from the pattern.

Artist's Statement: