What colors for premmie hats do you use?

I started making hats for premature babies. I am finishing up the orange/white cooridinates Sweet Stripes and was wondering what other colors do you make for donations to hospitals?

The Coordinates is pretty soft. Is there any other brands of yarns that people use for baby hats? I have some simply soft, and some other soft yarns that I want to use up.

Do they want pink, blue, yellow, etc.? I have green, purple, pink and some multi.

What do you think? Since I am new to donating, I really would like some help on colors and yarns.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

This is my way of helping others. There is a group called Care Wear, that donates many handmade items to hospitals. A friend introduced me to this great organization.

:manyheart

There may be some hospitals out there that are strictly pink and blue, but in general, they want EVERYTHING! Bright colors, pastels, etc. Make sure you do some hats that are very "boyish"--some parents are picky about not having anything remotely feminine on their boy's head. Whatever....

It's the best job in the nursery--choosing the right hat for each baby.

I've sent hats in pinks, greens, yellows, and they've not yet been sent back.

In terms of yarn, I go for any type of soft, machine washable yarn. And I try to stick with ones that I know don't fuzz up too much.

I like making baby hats. So quick, so cute, and so functional. :c9 What a great way of doing some community service, right? :D

I use any baby color and around Christmas and Valentines day I'll use bright red.

The only thing that I was once told is not to do anything in baby yellow because often the babies are jaundiced and look poorly in yellow. I've made lots of yellow baby gifts - I love the yellow/white combos, but I try to stay away from yellow for the preemies.