Who sticks to patterns anyway?

Who out there follows a pattern to the T?

While I'm a novice at crochet and don't touch anything too complicated yet. I find that I tend to grab a pattern for concept and then well...deviate. No matter how hard I try...I can't seem to stick to a pattern.

I recognize that I do simple things and If I were making a sweater I guess I'd have to stick to a pattern...but I'm not so sure even THEN I would be able to stick to it.

Am I the only one out there? After all...Crochet IS an art right?

I so do not follow any pattern to a T...for me a pattern is a guideline. That being said, if it's something new that I don't quite have the concept down entirely, I will tend to follow the pattern a little closer than usual. I'll try to use the recommended yarn and hook and double check the gauge, but once I have the concept down, if I'm inspired, heck yeah, I'm gonna deviate...a little anyway...

Probably the one thing I tend to do the most though in my tweaking is adjusting for size...and I totally agree with you, to me Crochet IS an art form...

What's a pattern? :lol:hook

Honestly, I may link to 9,000+ patterns (and tutorials) but I only use one once in a blue moon.

My clothing accessories, flowers, home decor, etc, items are all freeform, and not half bad looking (at least to me!)

I very rarely follow a pattern to the letter. I think the last time I did it was when I was doing baby things when I was pregnant, they are now 17 and 21.

I will look at a pattern and get inspiration and then change things as I go along, It works for me!

It depends. Sometimes (if I like the way it's done) I follow it. Often, I'll be making an afghan pattern and realize a better way to do it, but I'm too invested in it. If I ever made a pattern a second time, I would change it then, but I don't think I've EVER made the same pattern twice!