Is there a good online reference for...

How much yarn a project will take?

I was in Wally World yesterday, and found some sweet yarn that I wanted to turn into an afghan for myself. But I had no idea how much to buy. I'm not experienced enough yet to guess (other than to say "a lot", :lol ).

I just saw in another link the handy-dandy list of afghan sizes and how many squares it takes to make them.

Is there a comparable resource that shows approximately how much yarn it takes to make the average afghan?

I know it depends on the stitch used, but surely there must be a rule of thumb?

That was very helpful for using different yarns than a pattern calls for (which I always do, b/c I'm too broke to afford fancy yarn, lol!), but I'm looking more for something that says "the average twin size afghan done in double crochet uses ____ yards of worsted weight yarn." "A size large sweater generally uses ____ yards of type 1 yarn, _____ yards of type 2 yarn", etc.

That was very helpful for using different yarns than a pattern calls for (which I always do, b/c I'm too broke to afford fancy yarn, lol!), but I'm looking more for something that says "the average twin size afghan done in double crochet uses ____ yards of worsted weight yarn." "A size large sweater generally uses ____ yards of type 1 yarn, _____ yards of type 2 yarn", etc.

I don't think you are going to find any real rule of thumb for this mainly because it depends entirely on the stitch and size needle you are going to use. Afghans do have basic sizes but no two patterns I've made are the same size; if that makes sense.