Help With Whipstitch, Please

D_SELLEARS

Question

Hi, I am a beginner! I have almost completed my first project, a baby blanket. You start the project by making two panels (for the top and bottom trim). When you finish the second panel you, begin to work your rows in the opposite direction, along the side of the second panel. (I hope this is understandable.) I have completed this part of the project. The last step is to whipstitch the other panel to the blanket. I cannot figure out how to do this and the book I was learning from does not give very good directions. Could someone please help me by sharing some step-by-step directions.

D_SELLEARS:think

4 answers to this question

Hi D, and :welcome!

Here's a site that has close-up pictures on how to do whipstitch. (If you get a little window popping up asking you for a password, just cancel it -- you don't need to be a member to read the tutorials.) The example used is joining squares but the method is the same.

You might want to try out a few different methods of joining though, to see what will look best on your blanket. If the main piece was crocheted straight on to the bottom trim, maybe a crocheted join might be a better match? There are lots of different joining methods so you can choose what you think looks best. Be sure to post a pic when you're finished!

Smiles,

Nightowl, thank you so much. Those directions were very easy to understand, but do you not have to tie the yarn off to keep it from coming loose.

The main piece was crocheted directly onto the bottom trim. How do you do a crocheted join?

You're welcome, D, I'm glad it helped :)

You wouldn't want to tie the yarn and leave a knot, but you do need to weave in the ends to make sure they won't come undone.