Lion Brand: when your size isn't your size (long)

This grew out of a pattern rant thread in the Design Discussion section, but I felt it deserved a wider audience and as I'm not a designer myself I'd really like to hear what other pattern-following crocheters have to say.

The background: tropicallie complained in that thread that Lion Brand's directions for the Lush Lace Pullover in her size made it 1.5in smaller at the bust than stated. I went to have a look, calculator at the ready, and found it was the same for all sizes: they were all 1.5 - 2in too small. :eek So I emailed LB about it and asked if they could clarify.

The good news: I got a reply the same day. The bad news: I've never heard such a ridiculous statement!

Here's what they said:

The numbers are not that far off, especially when you consider it's over the front and the back. There are times when the math simply doesn't work out in exact increments in a design and allowances need to be made for this. This becomes more necessary often in a complicated pattern like this where you need a set number of sts to join everything together at the yoke.

• How on earth can a pattern publisher justify instructions that make a garment 2in smaller than stated by saying it's
"not that far off"?
Throw away those gauge swatches, everyone, because they just don't matter any more!

• Why not give the true finished measurements instead of ones that are simply wrong? Made worse by the fact the unachievable sizes are repeated on the schematic!