Phoenix area crocheters?

Figmint77

I know there are at least two of us in the Phoenix area, was wondering if there are any more. Maybe we could form a little group to converge on the yarns stores or do Ladies Nights and such.

~Tricia

Amber,

I crochet with mostly. I am just learning to use thread and it's a slow process. I've made several afghans because it does get cold here in the winter... right now we've got about 35 degree temperature drop between day and night. Of course I also make potholders and coasters and pet blankies and the occasional toy.

Patty,

Do you have alot of good yarn shops down in Tucson? I lived down there during the Academy, but we really didn't get much time to get out into town. I haven't been able to enjoy the weather really as I've been sick for the last week. Ick. So what sort of things do you crochet?

~Tricia

Tricia,

We have a local chain (2 stores so far) called Purls that has some of the most gorgeous yarn I've ever seen! I had no idea you could buy 100 yards of yarn for $25! :eek This could be a very expensive hobby! So far I've only crocheted three scarves (niece, nephew, bil), but I'm working on one for my mom, an afghan for my sis and bil (which I am having so many problems with!), and a dog sweater for a friend. I'm very much a beginner, but figured that scarves for the whole family, each from a different pattern using a different stitch or stitches, would help me learn them all. I'm all about learning in baby steps. Other than Purls, our choices are JoAnn's, Michaels, and Ben Franklin. I'm afraid I'll get suckered into ordering yarn online after seeing the gorgeous yarns people are using that aren't available in these stores.