What does double crochet (dc) IN next dc mean?

shypo60

Question

I'm a beginner working on a scarf pattern and it's not looking like the picture. The instructions for Row 2 (after Row 1 instructs dc in each chain across) are: Ch 4, skip first 2 dc (which I understand), *dc in next dc, ch 1, skip next dc; rep from * to last st; dc in top of ch-3, turn. I don't know whether I'm supposed to dc in the space between the 'columns' created by the dcs, or am I supposed to dc in the top of the chain? Also, is the 'top' of ch 3 (at the end) counting from the hook?

Row 3 instructs Ch 3, * dc in ch-1 sp, dc in next dc; rep from * across working alst dc in 3rd ch of ch-4. I understand the last part, but the first part doesn't look right - there are too many spaces. The picture shows a 'tighter' weave, with 'holes' in the odd numbered rows. Maybe I am doing it right, but the ending side of the scarf isn't going to look like the beginning side. I'm to end with Row 9.

Thanks very much!

4 answers to this question

i know this is not going to sound right, but here i go

*dc in next dc, ch 1, skip next dc; rep from * to last st; dc in top of ch-3, turn

in row 2 you are going to do your dc in the stitch below.

actually that does sound right, surprise myself.

if you were doing single crochet the whole afghan, you'd be single crocheting in the row below or IN THE SC below

hope this helps. and if i am wrong, i so hope somebody corrects me.

When you ch 3 at the beginning of a row, it is to equal one dc.

This row is making little open "squares" or spaces: