Red Heart Super Saver ??

dragonfli

I just bought some really pretty Red Heart Super Saver 5 oz skeins of a verigated yarn called Watercolor. It is very pretty. I want to make and afghan and I just started it and the yarn is sooooooo stiff and rough. It splits real easy so I have to be very careful. Also the pattern calls for a medium worsted weight, which it is, and a G hook. The guage is a full square for the afghan so I am working it now, but the hook "feels" to small for the yarn.

:think Are there any of you who have experience with this yarn? Will this RHSS soften up? When I finally wash it and rinse with Downey will it be as soft as the Caron SS. As I am working with it I am thinking there is no way I would want this rubbing up against my skin. Is the splitting normal? Does it "feel" to large for the recommended hook because it is so stiff? Should I just keep going and see what happens?

I have never used RHSS before so I don't know what to expect. I am a die hard Caron customer, but they just don't have the colors I am looking for lately and the RHSS varigated is such a yummy color.

I use RHSS very often, and yes - it DOES soften up after washing and drying. As for the "G" hook feeling too small - I have my OLD set of G hooks, and I had to buy a new G hook (because the other two disappeared and I was under a time crunch) and the new one is WAY smaller. You could check different brands, or see how your gauge turns out. I never use a gauge, because I'm always making afghans so it's not really essential as long as I'm in the ballpark. The splitting I have had on every kind of yarn I've ever used except the Caron one pounders (they are like a small rope to me - love that stuff!), but I've never used Simply Soft.

I am making an afghan now that uses the watercolor - it really IS pretty!