Crochet and motherhood!

Hello everyone :)

I’m expecting my first baby in 4 weeks’ time. I used to be an enthusiastic pastel artist, but my painting room is now the nursery and I have limited space in which to make a mess with my pastel dust. I'm also finding (already) that I really don't have the energy or concentration to paint much. That's what led me to dabble with crochet earlier this year, as I searched for another creative activity that would indulge my love of colour and could be fitted into my day no matter how little time or energy I had to spare. I now crochet while "watching" tv in the evening, or when I meet friends for coffee, and can no longer remember a time when I didn't have a crochet hook in my hand! :D

It seems to me that arts such as knitting, cross-stitch and crochet have always been traditionally women's crafts because they're quite compatible with being at home and raising children. Am I right to think and hope that when I have my baby, once I'm past the initial shock and upheaval of getting to grips with babycare and we've settled into our new life as a family, there will still be room in my life for crochet? As a stay-at-home mum until at least early next year, and then possibly working part-time, will I easily be able to pursue my new passion? Creativity is what keeps me sane, and I would love to know realistically how much time mothers (or fathers!) of babies and small children get to pick up their hooks. Are you still actively creating since having your baby? Has your pace really slowed? Do you find yourself tackling fewer projects, smaller ones, or different kinds of projects from the ones you did pre-baby? If any of you have blogs that combine mothering with crochet, I would love to read about your experiences.

Sorry for the waffly post. Cheers! :yay