Self Taught....GASP! Doing it all wrong!

Self Taught here

...got this great book from a friend of mine which was supposed to help me read the patterns better...I of course skipped around and used it like a dictionary looking up what I wanted to know when i wanted to know it. I learned some great motifs and spider webs, fish nets etc...but...Friday night...I stumble across a description of the DC...keep in mind I have about 10 WIPS...with DC in them....I'm skipping the first YO!!!!!!!!!!!!!! which I guess makes it an HDC. So the WIPS are all working just fine...here's the challenge. I really have to finish my WIPS before I start doing the DC appropriately or I will be confused about what was DC and what was HDC.

Had Grandma been alive this would NEVER have happened. to top it all off the DC is going to be a challenge for me, after all this I can't figure out how to YO first it just doesn't seem to flow in my hands. I'm so dissappointed!

:cheer Sounds like you have been doing a European DC (Double Crochet) which is a short stitch, called a SC (Single Crochet) in the US.

A HDC (Half Double Crochet) starts ith a YO but when you hook through the work, you then do a YO and hook through all 3 loops on the hook, instead of through 2 then through 2 again as for a full DC.

The best thing you can do, to familiarise yourself with the main stitches, is make some swatches of each stitch so you get the idea of the start and finish of the rows and how each stitch is formed.

Label them, then later, the swatches can be used as reference.

Good luck with this fascinating craft.

Have fun.

Colleen.:hug

RachelG gave an excellent Link! I use the videos all the time to help me with stitches that I'd forgotten how to do since I hadn't used them in a while. I would just complete my projects the way I had been doing them, and then start with a clean slate and do it the other way. That way you can start practicing on using the other method.

Krystal