My name is Svetlana...

Svetlana

Hi all!

I don't know where I've been all this time that I just found this wonderful forum! I'm so glad I did! :cheer You seem like a nice and friendly group of people, who is hooked to crochet just like I'm lately. I have read all the rules of the forum and hopefully will not make any mistakes or brake the law. :eek

OK, about me. My name is Svetlana, it's a Russian name (although I'm not Russian, but lived almost all my life in the former Soviet Union). Can you imagine living with the name like this here, in the US? Well, wellcome to my world! I spell it many-many times a day, since my job is mostly on the phone and they always want to know who they talking to. :yes

I'm just learning how to crochet and have couple of FO's already. I'm so looking forward to getting to know you better and learning from you all! :yay

Svetlana

Welcome, Svetlana! Welcome to Crochetville! You will love it there. I lived in Poland a long time ago and my best friend there was a Russian-born Svetlana. She immigrated to the US and had the same problems, constantly spelling her name for people!

Welcome to the board Svetlana. I'm new to crochet too. :D

I went to Moscow in 1987 for a youth exchange camp called ARTEK (looked like APTEK) down near Yalta on the Black Sea. We were at the camp for 4 weeks and in Moscow for 2 weeks. It was amazing! I had such an unforgettable time there. I know the whole region has totally changed since then. I fell in *love* with a boy there named Alexai (Alyosha) and had my 16th birthday there. I swore I was going to move there when I turned 18. LOL Never did make it back there though, dangit! lol

Molly in Washington state (near Seattle)

Thank you all for the warm welcome!

Molly I agree, it's hard not to fall in love with the region where you went. Yalta always been and stll is one the most popular resorts on the Black See shore. And Moscow turned into one the most expensive cities in the world to live in.