I taught some students to crochet...

I just thought you would all enjoy this story... I'm a chorus teacher, and as of about a week ago, all my major stuff was done and a lot of my seniors were pretty well done with everything so they spent the vast majority of their school days hanging out in my room. They've known that I crochet for a long time (and love the stuff that I wear that I've made), and one of them asked me to teach them. So I taught that student (who happens to be a senior that I am VERY proud of - my first senior to go to college to be a chorus teacher! Absolutely fantastic singer - she and another girl did the Flower Duet from Lakme in our chorus concert this year and it was breathtaking... but I digress...) and she picked it up really quickly. A couple of other girls saw us crocheting and wanted to learn too, so I had a little crochet club going on in there for a while. It was a really fun way to spend the last few days that I had with my seniors - I've been their teacher for three years (the longest I've taught anyone so far!) and I've become very attached to them - and vice versa, I daresay.

It was a lot of fun and was really cute.

As a side note, I think you will all enjoy hearing that every time another student would wander into my room (I love being an elective teacher, kids love being in my room and I love that) and said "What are you knitting?" the students that I was teaching would all reply in unison "We're CROCHETING!" It was hilarious.

We're having finals week this week, and tomorrow I have no tests to proctor so a couple of the girls are coming in to crochet.

I am going to miss them!

Yeah, for you!

Isn't teaching fun? I love my second graders as much as you love your seniors. Lucky for me I get to keep seeing them around the building for a few more years.

Those seniors will never forget you and some day, when someone asks them who taught them how to crochet, they'll answer, "Our chorus teacher our senior year!"