I have "Boucle" yarn...now what do I do with it?

papersmiles

I recently received a lovely gift of quite a few skeins of "Boucle" style yarn. I've never used this for anything but it is very attractive with it's bumpy surface. What do you all do with this yarn? It says it is primarily acrylic with 2% polyester.

I recently received some in a couple BIG bags of yarn a friend gave me (you know those bags comforters come in? Yeah, TWO of them! :eek:woo:hyper )... I am going to use it to make a couple of Red Scarf Project scarves. I've never worked with it before, so I figure practicing on a few charity scarves is a good way to start.

I think I am going to use a K or L hook, and stick with a simple stitch -- let the texture of the yarn provide the texture of the scarf. If I can survive this, maybe I'll use boucle for other things...

I think I have one skein of a dark red, one black, and two rust colored. I hope I can get two scarves out of them (one black/red, the other rust). We'll see.

Do you think you have enough for an afghan? I'm sure it would make a beautiful afghan with a nice texture, esp if it's a color that goes with your decor...

I have one word for you two...Vallium.

I swear, this was the hardest yarn I ever worked with. The width kept growing and contracting, no matter what I did. It's nearly impossible to figure out where the stitches are. At least with Homespun, you can sort of feel your way...it's a lot harder with this yarn. That being said, the final sweater I produced came out very well and is the warmest sweater I own. It was just tough getting there...

Oh Craters!!!!! No wonder it was "given away". I have 6 skeins of lemon yellow, 9 skeins of variegated yellow and pale green and 22 skeins of a variegated coffee color. So not really enough to make an afghan. YIKES....Vallium????? Just what I need....a yarn that will give me a case of the "shakes". This is not sounding too promising.