Hairpin Lace ~ How hard is it?

donnalynn2

After getting the new issue of Interweave Knits Crochet I have stopped and stared at this pattern several times. It's just beautiful but it's hairpin lace and I'm wondering since I've never done hairpin lace before if this is too ambitious.

Has anyone else got experience with hairpin lace? Any suggestions? Is it easy to pick up, or difficult? Thanks!

That's a great question? I was looking at those patterns too (especially the skirt) and was thinking how gorgeous they were. But...it looks so...I don't know...pernickety (as my grandmother would say). All those little loops to attach; it looks worse that assembly 4" motifs in a queen sized afghan!!!?

And where in God's name am I supposed to find the hairpin loom. I was thinking of downloading some photos and seeing if my dad could make one, but he doesn't have a drill press.

Has anyone tried it?

Hairpin lace is easy and fun. It really is simple to do and the connecting is simple also. I am so glad to see it making a comeback. I dug out my forks the other day and am thinking about doing something with them. They used to range in size from a 1/4 inch to 3 inch wide. I have a couple spares of the larger ones if you cant' find them any where else. They are also fairly easy to make. Me, I of course prefer the smaller thread size ones I have done edgings, chokers and doilies with this method. I find it very relaxing to do.

Hairpin Lace is amazingly easy (once you get the hang of it) but the results look very complex. I LOVE it. I got my loom about a week and a half ago and I've already made 3 scarves and a belt. Two of the scarves are for my scarf swap partner so I can't show them yet. But I'll try to take a picture of the one I finished last night... probably not till tomorrow 'cuz of no time :)

Joan