Using 100% Wool for Afghan

insurechick

Question

I've been considering using a wool yarn for an afghan...because of the shades of color I can find it in...but I'm concerned about it's scratchyness. :blush Has that been a problem for anyone who has used 100% wool for an afghan??

11 answers to this question

It depends on the kind of wool you use. Some is scratchy and others are as soft as a baby's bottom. I'd shop around and see what you come up with. I've only used Lion Brand Wool and a few kinds from Knit Picks so I'm not a wool expert. I'm sures ome of the others on this board who spin their own yarns and are more knowledgeable than I will be able to tell you specific kinds to use...

Good luck! :hook

Washing, as Gran mentioned, is another issue - make sure you look for wools that are superwash, or else you'll be paying a *ton* to have the 'ghan drycleaned.

Merino is known to be a softer wool, however, it's also known for having a tendency to pill. No matter what type of wool you end up going with, those labeled as "Virgin lambswool" [or something of the sort] will be less scratchy because they're from the first shearing and don't have as many blunt ends. [Much like how after you shave your legs, the hair grows back in prickly... the end you shaved off is prickly, too, LOL! The same concept applies to sheared fibers.]

Can't wait to see what you end up deciding!

Hmmm....I haven't come to a conclusion yet...I might just plan this afghn out of acrylics and do more research. Thanks for your comments everyone.

I know a lot of people like using LB Wool-ease for afghans. It is mostly Acrylic, but has some percentage of wool (I think 20%) but am too lazy to go look.