Crochet Old timers

• Replies 140
  • Created
  • Last Reply

34 yrs.! learned when I was 20 and expecting my first daughter (no ultra-sounds or epidurals back then!:eek ) Gee, that makes me 54! YIKES that sounds old. But trust me, I'm NOT! LOL! :lol

I have been crocheting since I was around 8 that is, oh my, 36 years, i guess that would make me an old timer crocheter, boy I dont feel like an old timer. I remember one of the fist things I make was this silly looking red flower, that I put on a stick and gave to my gram, and god bless her, she had it on her dresser in a little vase up until the time she left us. What a wonderful women she was.

Trish

Guess I am an old timer and proud of it! I started learning from a book, (I still have that book!) at age 17 in 1969. I made my mother in law to be a granny square afghan, I did not know how to sew the ends in, so I made knots all over that thing. I thought it was gorgeous. Many years later when I did divorce the father of my wonderful children because he wanted "open marriage" (had affairs all over the place, duh.....I was dumb!) Well, dear mother in law sent that blanket back to me, in the mail. Just the blanket, by itself, in a box. Not any of the nice jewelry, pearls, or nice things. Just that knotty blanket. :lol

Just curious, thought it'd be a fun question.

How many crochet "old timers" do we have here? You know, those of us who've been crocheting 15, 20, 30 years or more?

I learned when I was 10, in (oooo telling my age!) in 1977.