Teaching 15 women to crochet. Help!!

Hi everyone:

As an instructor by trade and a lifetime crocheter, I thought it would be fun to teach a few people how to crochet at our church. Little did I know that there would be such an overwhelming response. I was expecting about 5 people and instead have 15 with numbers rising. Not one of the 15 has crocheted before. :eek

When I asked the participants if they would like to learn to make the usual stuff--scarves, dishcloths, etc. Most replied that they really didn't want to make anything for themselves, instead, they would like to make a comfortghan for members of the congregation who are ill or in need of "comfort". As such our "comfortghan ministry" has now been born. :hug

I thought the ladies could make granny squares. I'd pick the most simplest of granny square patterns to start and if each person could make 1 square, we'd be in business. Although I expected them to protest, they really embraced the idea. I'm a hip 41 year old and I guess the ladies thought that if square making was "okay" by me, they felt so too.

Can anyone offer me some instructional "tips and tricks"? Here's what I have planned so far:

1. I have put together a mini-booklet with all my crocheting "expertise - if you could call it that" that I plan to give the ladies. You name it, it's in there! I used to be a technical writer and have been complimented on my user guides. I hope that now comes in handy!
  2. I have bought the yarn and hooks we need.
  3. I thought they could start the first week with simple stuff, chains, sc, dc for the quicker pickeruppers, turning the work, etc.
  4. I'd give them a ball of yarn and a hook to take home so they could practice throughout the week.
  5. When they returned, depending upon their levels, we could start the granny squares.