Wool vs. alpaca?

werecat

Ok, I was telling my sister about the cartigan I am making for myself. first one is going to be out of simply soft acrylic (I think that is the content) and that after that I want to make one in real wool. I have never done anything in real wool before but know it has great insulating properties and is one of only a hand full that keeps its insulating properties even when it's wet. I come to find out that my sister is so allergic to wool that I wont even be able to hug her while I am wearing it. :eek She works at a vet's office that has a alpaca breader as a client and has worked with handling the beasties and no allergic reaction at all! What are some of the pro's and cons and differences between wool and alpaca yarns? Any one have any preferrences? Shrinkage? insulating propertries? so on?

It is possible that your sister is having the allergic reaction to the chemicals used to process the wool, which is why she isn't having an issue with touching the live animals. Try hunting out organic fibers - they will have been treated with much gentler cleaners and dyes or not at all - and may be less likely to cause a reaction. They're pricier, but worth it if this item will receive lots of use.

I have heard that alpaca is warmer than wool and is also a great insulater. However, I have heard that it doesn't work so well in water resistance, as wool does so wouldn't make great mittens. This is just what I have heard. I have never tested this.