Hello Everyone

laffingliz

Hi all I am new to crochetville. I stumbled across it accidentally and think it is fabulous and I love the designs and items folks have made and are proud to show off and share. Crochetville has inspired me to create my own blog to show off my items - I started it 2 days ago and is in progress. :hook

I have been crocheting since 1981 at age 11 when my Grandma showed me how to single crochet. I learnt how to knit when I was 5 in a school drive to make squares for blankets for starving children, but it never really took off until later on. I got a ladybird book called Crochet designed for children and followed some of the things in there, but they never turned out exactly the same - because I only had one size 3.5 hook that my grandma had left me when she went back home and the wool was never the same as in the pictures! Any how I seriously got into crochet as I progressed into my teenage years and my Grandma posted me wool from France so she really encouraged me to keep it going. I knit lots of jumpers in my teens and made a lot of crochet clothes for my sis when she was a baby (23 years ago!) along with granny square blankets and purses. (My mom does not knit or crochet - she says it's 'cos she is left handed)

I left home 14 years ago and mom used to visit regularly - I always had something on the go either knitting or crochet and she turned up one day with a carrier bag full of crochet monthly she had found at the Church Fete for next to nothing. Well I was amazed - they were a feast for the eyes - I had never seen such beautiful items and thought I could never do that - but I did. I made a tablecloth first of all, and cushion insets and then another table cloth for my partners mother, and lacy waistcoats then for some reason I stopped after my son was born nearly 11 years ago.