New Crocheter from Tampa, Florida checking in!

Swayde

Heya ya'll...

My name is Barbara. I am a 27 year old housewife living in Tampa, Florida, which also happens to be where I was born and raised.

I just recently got into crocheting, like 2 weeks ago, so I am a newbie! My mother had taught me some basic crocheting about 10 years ago. Together we made an afghan, but after that I never had the time or desire to really make anything else. It was very difficult for me to learn from my mom since she's a lefty and I am a righty. My grandmother helped show me some stuff, but arthritis has made crocheting too painful for her most times.

Anyhow, I've always loved to cross-stitch and I'd been admiring a lot of crocheted and knitted things and one night my husband asked me why I didn't do some crocheting and/or knitting. I told him that I really didn't know how, cause it had been so long. So he told me to decide which I wanted to learn first, go to the store, buy some yarn and some hooks or needles, a book for beginners and he'd show me enough to get me started....WOW, my own hubby knows how to crochet and knit =) I was surprised and amazed.

Well, since this happened about 2 weeks ago, I haven't made many things...a set of 4 round coasters is my only finished claim to fame, but I like them and it gave me enough practice to start doing something I've always wanted to do, make doilies! I have been working on this one doily for about a week, it's a pinwheel design and very lacy looking. So far it seems to be coming along quite nicely. I plan to have my brother take pictures of my projects with his digital camera for me and I am going to start up a website to catalog my projects as an online scrapbook.