Tunisian Stitch

Tinkpink

Question

Hallo everyone.

I started on an afghan with a tunisian stitch with rows of diamonds building off of one another. I have trouble understanding the instructions where I have to join two diamonds. English isn’t my first language so it seems to be even harder for me. Is someone familiar with tunisian stitches and can maybe help?

Thank you very much.

image.jpg

Edited by Tinkpink

20 answers to this question

Welcome to Crochetville, Tinkpink.

You picked a beautiful crochet art with the Tunisian.  Although I have experimented with it, I am not a pro.  We have lots of experts here who can help.  I just wanted to welcome you and I am sure the pros will follow with their helpful advise.

• Like 1

Hi TinkPink, welcome to the 'ville! (your 'name' makes me think of a sort of silly song from a 1950s musical "Funny Face" about fashion design, link if you are interested)

I'm not an expert on Tunisian either, I've done some entrelac--here is my guess: It sounds like you are going to be joining them in a 'join as you go' method, where you work back and forth on the return pass between the diamond you are finishing, and one you have already finished.  My guess is where it says 'next diamond' it means not the one you were just working on, but the one you need to attach the one you now completing to; and where it says 'next stitch of diamond' I think it means the one you are currently finishing.

This is really confusing for a native English speaker and I can't imagine how much more confusing it must be to someone to whom English is not their first language.  And like I said, I'm not completely certain my guess is correct.

• Like 1

Hey. 
Thank you so much for your answer.  One thing that also confuses me is the difference between stitch and loop. 

As I go across with tss, I collect loops on my needle? Or are they called stitches on my needle? If they are called loops, where do I find the stitches?