Introducing myself. Barb from Central Illinois

I have been crocheting since I was a little girl.  My grandmother taught me to embroider with a very small crochet technique on hankies.  Since those very first lessons I became interested in crocheting and have been crocheting ever since.  Mostly self taught with a lot of help.  Most recently have been experimenting on Tunisian Crochet top down raglan sweater, which is giving me some headaches, to say the least.  The name of my pattern is Tunisian Star Stitch Pullover.  I am so confused with Rows 4-9 which refers to increases, which I understand, but the stitch count by row confuses me.  I am crocheting an XL and could use some explanation as to the count for each row.  The instruction says 148 its (including 28 its for each sleeve, 44 its for front and back, not counting first st and marked sts) at the end of Row 9.  My count for row 4 is always around 103, which is not correct.  When counting that row do I just count all the stitches in that row or do I not count the first st and the marked stitches in row 4.  Please Help!! I have been at this pattern for a long time and I'm determined to figure this pattern out.

Welcome to the 'ville!  My grandmother taught me to embroider with needle and thread when I was about 6, but I was a teenager before learning to knit and crochet.

Linking what sounds like your pattern (on Yarnspirations) , it's lovely!

https://www.yarnspirations.com/red-heart-tunisian-star-stitch-pullover/RHC0129-018573M.html