How to stitch this best?

Millish

Question

Hi,

I’m extremely new to knitting and crochet but have made a confident start and learned a lot in a short space of time. Recently an old threadbare blanket has emerged that was made for me by my grandmother an awfully long time ago. I thought it would be a nice idea to try and replicate it as much as possible - one for new memories and two I think it’s a good exercise. 
From my limited experience I’m confident it’s a fairly simple project. Looks to me like single crochet (in a spiral?!). I can’t work out how she did the corners though and can’t find an example anywhere that uses sc like this.

Basically, starting is my problem! I forgot to mention, the blanket is in another country so I’m relying on photographs as well!

Any help and advice gladly received.

thanks in advance.

IMG_6533.thumb.jpeg.dab45810d7b2a344ee92edcd6b3318e7.jpeg

69402486777__43D0BCEA-0D20-479A-A4D4-294534D32381.thumb.jpeg.585e65819c25d602ec392facc64ff192.jpeg

69402472029__5C2B2487-CD4A-40CD-912D-A55DC80995B3.thumb.jpeg.53118cc3cf95896340957b670211d051.jpeg

69402467826__BB1D3922-DCDF-4804-9002-F3A7A6AB9F63.thumb.jpeg.2a283b6d60b8e83249c505d0b6f5156d.jpeg

IMG_7180.thumb.jpeg.2ededf90fc0d8e125bd19e9ac7370bde.jpeg

2 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!  I believe your guess is mostly correct, it looks like SC but not worked in a spiral; if it was a spiral, you'd see a 'jog' where the colors joined.  I believe it was worked same side facing, but when came around to the last stitch of the round, you'd change the yarn to the next color (first color of the next round, in other words), complete the stitch, slip stitch to the first stitch of that round chain 1, and continue with the next round.  This makes a clean transition when changing colors in most any situation.