Big crochet in 2023

I wasn't sure about posting this here, but it's kind of exciting and I wanted to share it because you are all so kind and supportive.

I recently got an email from the Guinness Book of World Records that my application for a record breaking attempt has been approved.

The record?

Longest crocheted scarf by an individual.

The current record set in 2021 is 646 feet.

I'm going to try for 700.

There are a lot of rules to follow, and I have to record and upload a lot of evidence of the entire process. But I want to try this, because it's a wild and crazy idea and I've never done anything like this before.

I'm terrified.

Bring on 2023.

• Like 3

2 hours ago, greyhoundgrandma said:

I was just wondering--is there any way to make it where it could be taken apart into sections that would be usable scarves when it's all done?

My plan is to cut it/break it up to donate the yarn to some charities that make warm things. There is one local here to me that collects things all year round for different places.

• Like 2

That's a great plan. I can't even imagine how much yarn it will take. Although it kind of "hurts your feelings" to put that much work into it and then unravel it.

Looking forward to pictures of your progress. What is the start date?

21 hours ago, greyhoundgrandma said:

That's a great plan. I can't even imagine how much yarn it will take. Although it kind of "hurts your feelings" to put that much work into it and then unravel it.

Looking forward to pictures of your progress. What is the start date?

I'm starting on January 1st.  It's hard to wait though, but I still have Christmas presents to work on.

On 12/10/2022 at 2:07 PM, Ellie 13 said:

Does it have to be continuous, or can it be sections sewn together :think ? 5-foot scarves could be taken apart later. I saw something about the world's biggest granny square once.  Good luck. 

Ellie 13