How to fix uneven tension without restarting?

Alexcantthink

Question

Hello! I’m a beginner crocheter and I’m crocheting a giant blanket, it’s going great but I realized that my tension has been inconsistent throughout the piece creating a sort of bubbling effect in some places. Is it possible to fix this without completely restarting? It’s a giant blanket and I really wanted to get it finished soon! (It’s a gift for my mom, she won’t care about the quality but I want it to be nice for her)

image.thumb.jpg.6cc5a0c759f720dfc2c424e6d1cd7338.jpg

6 answers to this question

Besides counting your stitches stop periodically and measure your current row and compare it to your first row.  This will help you catch if your tension has varied too much.  Mine tends to get tighter the longer I work.  Oh and another thing be careful and support it as you work on it as the weight of it doesnt stretch it out.  

Did you use the hook size recommended for the yarn?  You might also want to try a larger hook----do a practice run and make a 12 inch square, making sure each row has same number of stitches.  If it looks ok pull it out and start your afghan.

There is no easy fast fix.  Best thing is to pull it apart and start over unless you dont mind giving it to your mom as is.

What is going on in the upper left side?  It looks like you worked along the side?  I dont think its necessarily a tension thing but a decreasing/increasing number of stitches thing.  The best advice I can give new crocheters is count, count, count.  Its best to count the number of stitches at the end of each row so you can fix it then instead of having to pull out several rows.  Sadly to this day I dont always follow my own advice because I have done this for years and I know where the first and last stitch goes----- famous last words.  Its easy to not get your first and last stitches made in the right place.

https://www.edieeckman.com/2019/08/28/where-to-put-the-first-stitch-of-a-crochet-row/