Is this normal? First time crocheting a sweater and it’s quite stiff!

CTG

Question

Hello,

I’m a beginner crocheter but wanted to try my hand at making a cardigan. I just finished making my first sleeve, however it is pretty stiff, such that it maintains its shape after putting my arm through (as shown in attached photo). It’s a bulkier yarn (size 6) but even so, it seems to me that it shouldn’t be this way. Also the stiffness makes it a bit awkward to bend my arm with it on. Is this normal? Or how can I make it less stiff? I am wondering if it could be my tension or hook size (using N - 10mm), or if this is normal for the kind of yarn I’m using. It’s size 6, 100% acrylic, and I am using the waistcoat stitch. On a related note, I’m following a tutorial and ended up needing to do several more stitches than the guide to get the same measurements (same yarn type & hook size), and therefore am leaning toward thinking it’s more of a “me” issue…

Any tips would be much appreciated! :)

DCB3ABEA-DE3D-493A-ABEA-894FED67FC51.jpeg

Edited by CTG

2 answers to this question

Waistcoat stitch makes a very dense fabric. If you are having to use more stitches than the pattern recommends then you crochet tighter than the designer. Tight stitches make a dense stiff fabric.  Using a lighter weight yarn and or a larger hook drastically changes the drape of crocheted fabric. 

^ what she said. I wouldn't consider using the waistcoat stitch for a garment.  It looks nice, but it has limitations.  Besides being dense, I believe it only works in the round (I've tried it but never made a project with it; since I knit and don't like the waistcoat stitch's texture, it wasn't for me).  I'm surprised a wearable would call for that stitch; I suggest you find another pattern that calls for SC, HDC or DC.