New to crochet, please help

DreSid

Question

Hello, 

I'm a crochet beginner working on a unicorn toy for a friend's new baby. I'm totally stuck! This is my second ever crochet project and the language it totally different from my first. It uses US standards but I can't make sense of it. I've made the head with no problem but I'm stuck on the neck/body. Round 7 on makes no sense to me and has me questioning whether or not I've started this portion of the project correctly. I've listed the instructions as given below. Please help!

NECK AND BODY:

Rnd 1: With A ch 2, 7 sc in 2nd ch from hook - 7 sts.

Rnd 2: [Inc] 7 times - 14 sts.

Rnds 3-6: Sc in each st around 14 sts.

Note: Neck made -- beginning shaping body.

Rnd 7: Ch 9, sc in 2n ch from hook and in next 7 ch, sc in next 6 sts, inc, sc in next 7 sts - 22 sts.

Rnd 8: Working in the back loops of the ch previously made, sc in next 7 sts, [inc] 2 times, sc in next 14 sts, inc, sc in next 4 sts - 31 sts.

Rnd 9: Sc in next 7 sts, [inc] 3 times, sc in next 22 sts - 35 sts.

Rnd 10: Sc in next 8 sts, [inc] 3 times, sc in next Rnds 11-17: Sc in each st around - 38 sts. 24 sts - 38 sts.

Rnd 18: Sc in next 9 sts, [sc2tog] 3 times, sc in next 14 sts, [dec] 3 times, sc in next 4 sts - 33 sts.

Rnd 19: Sc in next 8 sts, [dec] 3 times, sc in next 11 sts, [dec] 3 times, sc in next 2 sts - 27 sts.

Rnd 20: Sc in next 7 sts, [dec] 3 times, sc in next 8 sts, [dec] 3 times - 21

Rnd 21: Sc in each st around - 21 sts.

Rnd 22: [Sc in next 6 sts, [dec] 2 times] 2 times, sc-17 sts.

Fasten off, leaving a tail for sewing. Stuff and shape body. With plastic needle sew, closing opening.

14 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville, and to crochet!