Having a little difficulty with a translated pattern

lil_confused

Question

Hi guys, this is my very first time creating an amigurumi with  a written pattern (I usually follow youtube videos) and I found myself stuck on this particularly tricky step. Is it an instruction that is lost in translation or is it a type of stitch I have yet to learn:

1. 5 ch, start to knit in the second loop from the hook, inc, 2sc, 3sc to the extreme ch, 3sc (10)” 

I would really really appreciate it if you guys could help me understand what this means and how to do it :DD 

TLDR; I DON’T UNDERSTAND THIS STEP PLS HELP!!

P.S. I can’t figure out how to attach pictures so I put a link to the pattern below:)))https://www.amigurumiday.com/march-cats-amigurumi-crochet-pattern/

4 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!  And, Oh dear, this line is ah...interesting.  First, I think the weirdest looking thing, the last word 'extreme' means 'end' (like the far extremity of the row).  Second: since you are new to written patterns, always read the whole pattern through before picking up your hook, especially the abbreviations or special stitches section.  

“1. 5 ch, start to knit in the second loop from the hook, inc, 2sc, 3sc to the extreme ch, 3sc (10)” 

I'm also going to paste the definition of inc from the pattern:  "..inc: make increase into same stitch as many as the number which is given in front of “inc” abbreviation (exp; 3inc, 4inc..)."  Note, the addition of the 'c' on the first 'inc' is mine.  (this pattern is not off to a good start...)  

The second loop from the hook = I assume second chain from the hook 

The (10) at the end of the line means at the end of the row you should have 10 stitches--it is sort of a 'sanity check', not an instruction to do something. 

So to rewrite this:

Chain 5, skip the first chain, 2 SC in the 2nd chain, 3 SC in the 3rd chain, 2 SC in the 4th chain, 3 SC in the 5th chain.  This equals 10 SC.