Greetings from the American Midwest

Hello. I'm J. I'm 31, getting close to 32. I'm male, married, and my husband and I have five cats.

I learned how to crochet when I was six, but I am by no means an expert, nor would I really call myself advanced.

I'm not very good at following patterns, but it's something I really want to get better at. I tend to just wing it. I prefer to work with larger hook sizes, usually 9mm and 10mm, but recently discovered the joy of working with an 8mm.

I make scarves and blankets of various sizes. Oh, and cat toys. I make a fair amount of cat toys.

I'm a hook collector.

Edited by GalaxyCrocheter
  • Like 2

3 hours ago, Moz said:

Hiya J, delighted to meet ya!
Almost all of us end up being "hook collectors," whether by design or not...lol!
~Moz

Well, it started a couple years ago with my husband buying me a bamboo handled Susan Bates hook because he hoped it'd be more comfortable for my arthritic hands. (He doesn't crochet, but he's been learning about my preferences at least throughout our many years together.)

My husband likes getting me nice, comfy hooks, though sadly we can't find the Susan Bates hooks locally anymore. (I only have one Susan Bates with a bamboo handle, then I have a couple vintage hooks in sizes I don't often use. I have other hooks with bamboo handles though.)

I also inherited a LOT of hooks from my husband's granny. Some I haven't been able to identify. The bulk of the collection was lace hooks, but I inherited others as well. I've learned a lot about crochet hooks since adding these to my own collection. 

Oh, and there are a couple handmade (hand-wittled) afghan hooks. We're not sure if they're heirlooms from my husband's family or if his granny picked them up at a garage/estate sale. They seem fairly old.

I've wanted to try to handmaking some crochet hooks ever since I first laid eyes on them.

Edited by GalaxyCrocheter
  • Like 1

Welcome  to Crochetville from the Gulf Coast of Florida.