Cindy

CindyC1960

Question

I'm new at crocheting. I have a pattern for a rabbit. I don't understand the following directions. Help please with rows 3-5. Thanks

Row 1   2 ch, 8 scin 2nd st    (8)

Row 2. inc in all 8 st       (16)

Row 3  (1 sc, inc) *8     (24)

Row 4 (2 sc, inc) *8       (32)

Row 5 (7 sc, inc) *4       (36)

Edited by CindyC1960

6 answers to this question

Cindy this is how I read it: Hope this helps

Row 1   2 ch, 8 sci n 2nd st    (8)

Row 2. inc in all 8 st  (16)    (2 sc in each st for a total of 16 sts)

Row 3  (1 sc, inc) *8  (24)     (1 sc, then 2sc ... alternating around for a total of 24 sts)

Row 4 (2 sc, inc) *8   (32)     (1sc in each of the next 2 sts, then 2sc in next st...alternating around for a total of 32 sts)

Row 5 (7 sc, inc) *4   (36)     (1 sc in each of the next 7 sts, the 2 sc in the next st ... alternating around for a total of 36 sts)

• Thanks 1

Row 3  (1 sc, inc) *8     (24)

inc means make 2 stitches into one stitch of previous row

you work the 1 sc and inc 8 times

(24) is the total number of stitches for that row so you work as follows

1 sc into first stitch of previous row, 2 sc into the next stitch

1 sc into next stitch of previous row, 2 sc into the next stitch

Edited by bgs
  • Thanks 1

Welcome to the 'ville, and what they said ^

In spreadsheet and programming software an asterisk is the multiplication symbol, but it's inexcusable to use an asterisk in a crochet pattern to mean anything other than what it has meant in crochet patterns for well over a century --  the beginning point of a repeat.

Nowadays you might see a version of row 3 as: "Row 3  (1 sc, inc) x 8  (24)"  While still not conventional this is easier to interpret because 'x' is commonly understood to be the symbol of multiplication, so "(1 sc, inc) times 8".   

• Like 1