Thread sizes finer than 100

TrK

What an interesting forum :)

For some time I’ve been trying to find out when DMC, J&P Coats and other manufacturers of fine crochet thread halted their production of 120, 150, 160 and 200. 

I use vintage 150 from both of the above mentioned companies and 200 from the latter, but I’ve now idea as to their age.

The quality is still super.

Does anyone know?

Welcome to the 'ville!  And your eyes and hands must be younger than mine, I use mostly size 10, 20 is OK but 30 is really pushing my eyes and hand issues.  I can't even imagine 150!

Lacis has up to size 80 DMC cordonette for sale 'for wholesale distribution so presumably that's still being manufactured, but that's the 'good stuff'.

Thank you so much for welcoming me :)

DMC Cordonnet special size 100 is still made in France and sold here in Norway in two whites and ecru.

I’m relatively new to crocheting as I discovered it Christmas before last at the age of 51, so I nearly panicked when I got a few balls of 40 for my latest birthday in October. However, I liked crocheting with it and soon bought DMC c s in 60, 70 and 100, but was still looking for something that made more delicate results. Vintage patterns suggested the existence of 120, 140, 150 and 160, so I was thrilled when I came across quite a few balls in 150 and 200. Am using a 0,35mm needle for the latter.

It’s exactly the same really, but makes smaller results — way more delicate ones. I’m aspiring to be able to crochet my daughter a dress in Irish crochet :) Need lots of practice first!

Sooo relaxing, interesting and funny.

However, I wonder how old these balls are..?

40DDDD3D-0478-4C2D-91A3-3BBF3BCD327F.jpeg

Welcome! 

I am in the USA and use thread exclusively. The most common thread is size 10, then 20, 30 40, 80, 100. I have never seen thread offered for sale smaller than size 100. I guess Europe still does tatting or fine lace. I this country crochet seem to be going toward yarn.