Help with crochet pattern

Chloeleighbee

Question

Help! I’m a beginner doing a pattern from yarnspirations, the red heart vertical ridges crochet hat for him. The beginning of the pattern is clear, as I’m going back and forth doing scbl, mixing sc and sl st to start the rows. It appears like a rectangle despite the picture not looking that way, and the final instructions are confusing as they say after 13 rows: “Ch 1. 1 scbl in each sc to last sc. work across ends of Unworked sts from previous 13 rows: (1 scbl in next sc. 1 sc next sl st) 6 times. Turn. 37 sc”. Then I’m supposed to repeat another 13 rows plus that instruction.  

What does this mean? Can someone help me understand what to do in that last row?

6 answers to this question

You are working back and forth, in a sort-of-rectangle-ish strip at the start, from the face edge to the crown of the head and back, which makes the ribbing vertical.

The pattern says 'side to side, which is misleading; it's 90° from the way one normally works hats, but it's not side to as in 'side to side across the head, parallel to the floor'.

I'm not sure I'd call the pattern easy...one one hand it is simple in terms of stitches used, but it's a little mind-bending construction-wise even if one has made hats before.  You will be making strips that taper to wedges at the top of the hat.  Also, only 4 rows are spelled out but there are really dozens more, there are imbedded repeats.

• Thanks 1

Thanks so so much for your help! That makes sense to me, but I’m having trouble seeing how the tapering to wedges is happening. Do I flip it ninety degrees after having done the first 13 rows? I’m having trouble understanding the instructions in “Next row”. Here’s a picture of the instructions and what it looks like after completing (most) of the first 13 rows. Thanks again for helping me understand what to do next!! It’s much appreciated s 

A59CF709-A048-4C61-8655-5D77881F9604.jpeg

98ADDF8B-E646-4341-A34D-D6A14EC36F70.jpeg