Need help with a pattern

Kittymodel

Question

Hi,

I’m new to crocheting and I’ve started to make a basket where the pattern was attached to the yarn that I bought. I’ve also followed a YouTube’er who is doing the tutorial of this basket. However, I’ve been doing exact what he is showing in the video but I do not get the same results ☹️. It’s so frustrating. 

I’ve attached pictures of how mine looks like. I’m on the second row but it just doesn’t look right. The first picture show the front and the second picture is showing the back. It looks like a mess. 

Also, getting 6 sc in the 2nd ch from hook is not easy. I can barely get my hook through the yarn the first time but 6 times make my yarn almost break. And I don’t think I’m crocheting too tight either. 

Please advise. 

https://youtu.be/VDhsOYIyBQ8 

E77A9D7A-C87A-4899-A493-F7797ED91F19.jpeg

4D94D25D-AE25-4F60-81D7-F86943E85251.jpeg

4DCB4BD6-8E3A-40CC-A4AE-CD4954612000.jpeg

Edited by Kittymodel

7 answers to this question

First check whether your yarn is the same weight as the pattern yarn and that you are using the right size hook. For a basket sometimes you use a smaller hook than the yarn calls for to give it more structure. Your yarn is more textured/fuzzy than the blanket yarn so it's going to look a little different.

You said 6 sc were hard to make, but the pattern calls for 8 sc. That difference would be enough to make it "cup" instead of being flat. Sometimes you have to make that chain that you are working into a little bigger than normal or you might try using a magic ring/circle instead of the ch 2. There are youtube videos showing how to do it.

• Thanks 1

Welcome to the 'ville! 

I wish I could take each new crocheter by the hand and tell them not to buy huge bulky (especially fuzzy) yarn until they have crocheted 1,000 stitches in worsted weight yarn and an appropriate sized hook. (that sounds like a lot, but it's really less than a typical pot holder's worth of stitches).