New and disheartened!

Question

I am new to crochet. I am following a (single crochet) pattern that doesn't say "ch1" at the end of each row. So, I haven't. 

A long way into the pattern, one part of the toy now says "ch1" at the end of each row. 

General question - if I'm following a (standard) pattern, do I presume I chain 1 (if it's sc) at the beginning of each row, even when it's not stated? 

Specific question - should I have been "ch1" at the end of every row in the whole pattern?! If yes, why does it suddenly say "ch1" now?! Does that mean I should now ch2?! 

I'm confused and getting disheartened...

This is the pattern, and it's the hood where "ch1" suddenly appears... https://artisticgaming.com/portfolio/final-fantasy-tonberry-pattern/

Thank you so much in advance! 

Edited by Rosiepose
Spelling

4 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!  Last question first - no, don't assume you have to chain 2, that would make a hole.

Conventionally, when working SC in rows, or in the round NOT in a spiral, you chain 1, this is the turning chain that brings the yarn up to the level of the next row.  In rows you'd chain 1 and turn, in non-spiral rounds that are joined and 'chained up' (so not in a spiral, in discrete rounds where you join the end of the round to the beginning), you chain up after joining, and start a new round--either turning or same side facing.

When working in spiral rounds (which your pattern is doing for the head), you don't chain 1, because the round 'never ends' (sorta), it just overlaps and keeps going.  Later on, this pattern calls this 'method' a continuous round (same as what I'm calling spiral).