Pattern breakdown

Unremittingly

Question

I’m a beginner struggling to decipher this pattern. If someone can break down the first couple lines for me, I think I can figure out the rest. I tried following it but my results look way different from the photo provided with the pattern. 

I know how to make the magic ring, so I just need a break down of line 1 and 2. It seems so simple, but I’m obviously messing something up.

It’s supposed to be a witch hat, btw. 
Thank you so much!

image.jpg

12 answers to this question

So you make the magic ring and then make 6 sc in the magic ring.  Assuming you are working continuous round so you need to put a stitch marker in first stitch and move it to first stitch of each round to keep track of your rounds.

1) you sc in each of the 6 sc you made in the magic ring ---6 sc made

2) 2 sc in first sc of previous round, sc in next sc of previous round, 2sc in third sc of previous round, sc in next sc of previous round, 2sc in 5th sc of previous round, sc in last sc of previous round---9 sc made

Inc means make 2 stitches into one stitch on previous round

The number in(  ) at end of round is the total number of stitches made in that round

You are making a cone and are at the smaller/pointy end

Edited by bgs
  • Thanks 1

Exactly what she said.  Every word or abbreviation is in conventional crochet pattern terms except MR.  "Magic ring" or "adjustable ring" are ways to start a center-out circle.  In your case, since you are starting with only 6 SC stitches, an alternate and easier way to start this would be to chain 2, and make 6 sc into the 2nd chain from the hook - yes, they will all fit. 

A well written pattern should have a special stitches section, usually right before the pattern starts or sometimes in books or magazines at the end of the pattern, and "MR" should have been defined.