Prayer Shawl

thatsamiam

Question

Hello! My name is Sam and I am new to crocheting. I'm self taught so I'm not the best but I'm learning. I've made a few blankets with my best one being an american flag blanket (the stars took forever). I can make a mean pot holder and wash cloth set too. Last year I crocheted a yarmukle for my brother, which was the first time I successfully followed a pattern.  

Right now I'm trying to make a shawl/prayer shawl for my best friends mom who just started chemotherapy. I try to mostly watch youtube videos to help since I have difficulty with following along to a written pattern.

Basically I'm wondering, how much does it affect your pattern if you use a thicker yarn and larger hook than suggested for a specific pattern? Most of the ones I find that I really like use a thin-ish yarn and a 4mm or 5mm hook. I'm trying to make something thick, warm, and cozy, which uses a 6mm or 7mm hook (more like something you'd make a blanket with). I tend to favor the double crochet stitch because it's easy and looks good, but I want this to be special with a nicer pattern. I started to make something following a video online, and the pattern just looks kind of smooshed and you can't really see it. Is there a way to modify a pattern for thicker yarns? If anyone has any input I would appreciate it!

Edited by thatsamiam

7 answers to this question

I find that you loose the lacey effect in patterns when you try using bulkier yarn in patterns written for thinner yarns if that is what you are seeing.  Its a matter of whether you like the look or not.  Another thing to try is experimenting with larger hooks than what you are using.   If you decide to search for a different pattern dont limit your search to prayer shawls but also search afghans and scarves.

https://www.favecrafts.com/Crochet-Afghans/Bulky-Yarn-Crochet-Blanket-Patterns

Edited by bgs

Hello and Welcome!