Why is there a gap between my single crochets?

Izzie

Question

Hey there,

I can’t replicate a mistake I made and I hope I’ll find some help around here  I’m a beginner and I’m pretty lost.

I tried to do a half color change with single crochets, but apparently I did something wrong as there’s a gap between the two colors. 

My first color was brown, then U changed it to yellow by doing a faulty half color switch while crocheting in rounds. Now, on the outside there’s a gap between the last brown and the first yellow row. You can’t see through, but you can pull the outer half apart and create a gap showing the inner half. 
Furthermore, it looks like you can see the “V”-Stitches on the outside of the last brown row. So I don’t think that I accidentally only crocheted into the front of back loop, but I’m not sure. 

Do you have any idea what went wrong? I enclosed some pictures of the gap (it’s between the yellow and brown outer row  

I like the gap for this project and I’d like to replicate it. Any guesses are welcome :)

Thank you in advance for your help. 

Greetings from Germany

Izzie

354723C3-BC34-4FC7-978C-2AD29BF8D4D2.jpeg

FEF311AC-844E-4BB4-A05F-7057D0BE45CA.jpeg

00A1E09B-E5E4-4F7E-AFBC-81189F1D176D.jpeg

D3B1F474-9710-4AEA-A3BB-B1EA08AD7775.jpeg

491FA198-73A0-4DBE-BED6-710F94383898.jpeg

078BF988-78BF-4654-960C-BC82E39BB2B1.jpeg

CD0B40FA-E335-4F0D-A54A-4230511D5ADD.jpeg

3 answers to this question

Welcome to the 'ville!

Good news - You haven't done anything wrong. 

Bad news, or maybe educational news--when you work in a spiral without mitigation for the color change, that's what happens.

Good news--rather than me explaining it, google 'how to crochet stripes in a spiral', there are lots of videos and a picture really is worth 1000 words to show how to blend a color change when working in a spiral.  Actually, your piece looks pretty good - the fix won't stop this entirely but will improve the look.

Edited by Granny Square
  • Thanks 1