Please help with ‘working in the round with straight chain’ instructions

peddidle

Question

I’m new to crochet and made an attempt at making a ‘phone carrier.’ Near the end of the pattern I realized my stitches were not matching up—the number of stitches and rows matched the pattern, but a chain space that was supposed to be in the middle was way over to the side. I decided to restart with new yarn (so I could compare the two results) and found that I didn’t even really understand where to make some of the stiches in the first rows. The pattern tells me to chain 11–okay, no problem there. Then I’m to work 3 sc in the 2nd chain—no problem there. Then I’m to sc in the next 8 sts—okay, no problem there. Then I’m to work 3 sts in the last st of that side of the chain—mostly okay, though I’m not sure how to place the stitches: all to the one side of the knot or more evenly? It’s the next set that I don’t understand. Out of the 11 ch sts on one side and the 11 ch sts on the other side of the round, I have used 1 for nothing (skipped to start round with 2nd stitch), 1 for the first 3 sc, 8 for the next sc sts, 1 for the last 3 sc = 11. Good, one side. But the next instruction is “working on the opposite side...sc in each of the next 8 ch to complete the round, do not join.” That means on a side that has 11 ch sts, I only use 8. What am I not undrstanding? Does my next rnd start before all ch sts are used?

1 answer to this question

You are working in an oval - this question gets asked a lot here, since they are a little mind bending the first time.

You know how to work across a chain the normal way - You skip 1 or more chains depending on the stitch, stick your hook under 1 or 2 loops of the chain, yarn over, make a stitch, and then more stitches until you run out of chains.